NC drug laws include fines and jail time for getting caught with illegal drugs. Understanding the state’s strict stance on NC marijuana laws can help young men understand the dangers of drug abuse. Red Oak Recovery offers a separate men’s rehab center program to those ready to quit using drugs. To learn more about our men’s addiction treatment programs, please contact Red Oak Recovery today at 866.457.7590.
Strict NC Marijuana Laws
NC drug laws ban all recreational use of marijuana, making it stricter than states such as Colorado that have legalized recreational marijuana use. NC marijuana laws for medical use are also more stringent than in many other states. Residents can only use specific forms of marijuana to treat epilepsy with pre-approval to do so. Those caught with marijuana for the first time may receive a fine, but the laws overlook minimal amounts of marijuana.
Occasionally, someone proposes legislation to expand legal uses of marijuana. So far, none have passed into law. Those who get caught using or possessing marijuana can face fines end charges ranging from a misdemeanor to a felony. For more significant amounts of marijuana, jail time can equal several years.
What Penalties Are Associated With NC Marijuana Laws?
A $200 fine can accompany charges of possessing more than 0.5 ounces of marijuana. It’s considered a misdemeanor, with no jail time. However, the more marijuana you have, the higher the penalties. For example, if you have between half an ounce and 1.5 ounces of marijuana, you can go to jail for 45 days and likely pay a $1,000 fine.
So, what happens if you’re caught with more than 1.5 ounces of the drug? This amount constitutes a class one felony. Getting caught with 1.5 to 10 ounces of marijuana could equal a year-long jail sentence and massive fines.
What Are Other NC Drug Laws?
The Tarheel State doesn’t look kindly on possessing or trafficking any kind of drugs. With an opioid epidemic sweeping the state, NC drug laws carry heavy sentences and fines, as follows:
- You can go to jail for 42 months for selling 20 grams of crack or powder cocaine. Having or selling over 400 grams of either drug carries a maximum penalty of 219 months (18+ years) in jail.
- Those selling heroin or opium can face 84 months in jail if caught selling 14 grams or less. If you get caught selling 28 grams or more, you could go to jail for 279 (23+ years) months.
- State and local officials continue to find and shut down meth labs across the state. Those caught making methamphetamine face a Class C felony.
The best way to avoid legal consequences for drug possession is to see addiction treatment. We offer customized addiction treatment programs for meth, cocaine, heroin, prescription painkillers, and other drugs. You can save yourself potential run-ins with the law that could permanently impact your future employment and other options.
Marijuana Addiction Treatment in North Carolina
Many people consider marijuana to be a gateway drug. For those who would like to nip their marijuana habit in the bud, we offer the following types of therapy:
- Individual therapy
- Group therapy
- Trauma therapy
- Holistic therapy
- Family therapy
You can prevent your drug abuse from escalating to heroin and other substances that carry substantial legal penalties. Seek treatment today at Red Oak Recovery.
Seek Substance Use Treatment at Red Oak Recovery
NC marijuana and other drug laws make it risky to continue using illegal substances. However, if you have a substance use disorder, you may find it hard or impossible to resist maintaining your habit. Qualified therapists and medical staff at Red Oak Recovery do everything in their power to facilitate your full recovery. Contact us at 866.457.7590 to shape your own future and avoid legal penalties.